Taggar

, , , , , , , , ,

Midsommar

Flag day in Sweden. In this case it’s Midsummer Day and my family is celebrating it out in my grandparents cabin by the river. This picture is of my grandfather taking down the flag in the evening when the sun is setting. Well, setting further to the south that is. At this time of year the sun does not set at all in the north, it’s when we enjoy the midnight sun.

In Sweden a number of days are designated as official flag days when the swedish flag is flown on all public buildings and flag poles. It is not mandatory to hoist a flag on your private flag pole, but a lot of people do. (More information can be found here)

This week’s photo challenge is Culture, and a hard one for me. I do think I spend to little time thinking about or experiencing culture. To see more pictures on the theme visit Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture at the Daily Post.